Olivia Baker

Contact details

Olivia


Mobile: 07873 752 619
Email:

List of services

Personal Assistant
Personal Care
Home Meal Preparation
Shopping Assistance
Medication Assistance
Social Engagement
Pet Walking
Domestic Duties
Respite Care

Coverage

Within 15 miles of Bexhill

Availability

I currently have no availability

Charging and related information

£15.00 per hour
Mileage at £0.45 per mile

Expertise

Supporting clients with dementia
Supporting clients with learning disabilities

Experience

Since leaving education I have worked in a caring capacity in various roles. As a teaching assistant I worked with children and young people with profound and multiple learning disabilities, helping them to gain and maintain skills that enabled them to lead independent and autonomous lives, advocating for themselves and achieving goals that would both help them do this and personal goals, fulfilling their potential and then being able to do the things that were important to them.

In my work at the Memory Assessment Service as an administrator I was dealing with people at a very vulnerable time in their lives. Service users were in the early stages of assessment for dementia, and along with their families often felt very unsettled as they were uncertain about what diagnosis they may get and the impact this could have on their lives. This role developed the compassion and empathy I naturally feel for other people as a caring person. It helped me to deal with service users patiently, as I could hear that the frustration they sometimes expressed to me was a result of the uncertainty they felt. I feel I interact in a much kinder and patient way with everyone I meet because of this.

I have been delivering domiciliary care for around a year now as a home carer and have expanded my care skills in this job, learning more about delivering personal care with dignity, administering medication and using moving and handling equipment.

I have always enjoyed learning and gaining new skills. If, for example, I have a new client with a particular need or a piece of equipment I have never used before or an interest I don't know much about, I am more than happy to learn about the subject and expand my skills and knowledge further.

In my spare time I love reading, going to concerts (from the minute I wake up to the minute I go to bed, I've always got music on!) and dancing (probably quite badly!). I have always enjoyed history (an interest I share with my mum, not so much my dad!) and like to visit local historical places such as Pevensey Castle, Hever Castle and Scotney Castle. I am a member of the National Trust, and love visiting their properties.

Background

I have worked at Glyne Gap School for the Memory Assessment Service, and as a home carer.

Accreditation

Category listings

New search

Find the help you need

A directory of services, groups and organisations