Deborah Crook

Contact details

Deb Crook

Mobile: 0770 4718 729

List of services

Carer's respite breaks, especially for people with dementia. I provide one -to-one personalised support for, say, two or three hours, so that their carer can have a much needed break. Ideally I would like to take them out to somewhere they enjoy, or we can stay at home if that is more appropriate

I also offer support to older people who live on their own and need help to get out and about. Or people who lack confidence to go out on their own.

Outings can be social or practical-Nation Trust gardens, the seafront, local park, church, garden centre, special interest group/club, supermarket, doctor's or hospital appointment, concert, cinema-the list could go on and on !!!

I would be happy to assist someone to have a whole day out.

Support and assistance for people who want to declutter their home, working at their own pace, by helping them sort their belongings and pass them on as they choose.

Assistance and support with registering deaths, arranging funerals etc. Emotional and practical support through the process, liaising with professionals involved, accompanying to appointments, help notify family and friends, etc.

Assistance with correspondence , bill paying, sorting and filing documents etc.

NB: I do not do personal care or domestic tasks. However, I would obviously assist if any emergency occurred during the visit/outing.


Eastbourne and nearby villages


No Availability

Charging and related information

£18.00 an hour weekdays
£23.00 an hour weekends and evenings
£27.00 an hour bank holidays
plus mileage of £0.45 per mile incurred during the visit. Minimum 2-hour call.


I am particularly interested in working with older people with memory problems and those who are socially isolated.
I also volunteer with a local charity which provides a variety of social activities for people with dementia and their carers.
I have a wide variety of personal interests-art, history, literature, cinema, theatre, archaeology, geology, knitting, sewing, crafts. I am a member of the National Trust and the Art Fund and a Friend of Wakehurst Place. I was brought up with dogs, but quite like cats and other pets too!


I have professional experience of working with and supporting adults with dementia, physical disabilities and illnesses, mobility problems and sensory impairment. I have personal experience of helping and caring for close family members and friends with dementia and mobility problems.


I have thirty years experience working with East Sussex Adult Social Care. I started out as a secretary with the Eastbourne Hospitals Social Work Team, was promoted to Resource Officer, and subsequently qualified as a Social Worker with the Independent Living Team in the Lewes area.


Category listings

New search

Find the help you need