Ben Trowell

Contact details

Ben Trowell Personal Assistant

Mobile: 07984 988 057

List of services

Personal Assistant


Eastbourne and surrounding area up to 5 miles


Mon-Fri 09.00-17.00 Evening and weekends by arrangement. Limited availability at present

Charging and related information

Weekdays 9-5pm – from £20
Evenings/weekends/Bank Holidays – from £25

Mileage: £0.45 per mile from client’s home for client-related trips


I have over 10 years experience of working with people with mental health and other support needs. I enjoy exercise and encouraging people to get out into the community.
I studied languages at university, qualifying in French and German, and speak conversational Spanish and some Japanese.


I have experience in supporting people with taking up activities, getting out into the community and dealing with budgeting, correspondence, maintaining a tidy home, and can support with cooking, shopping, laundry, basic garden maintenance, internet and email.

I'm a great believer in Personalisation in the social care, health and housing sectors, giving people choice in how they receive their care and support. It is important to me that someone feels empowered to live their life as independently as possible whilst being supported when necessary and feeling in control of how that support is received.

I like being active as I believe this is important for wellbeing. I love playing tennis, practising Tai Chi and Qi Gong, being outside in nature including a bit of gardening and supporting my two teenage sons in their various pursuits. At the start of 2020 I completed a 2 year teacher-training course for Qi Gong and now teach classes via Zoom.

As well as speaking fluent French and German, I studied Spanish to AS level and have conversational Japanese


From 2005 – 2010 I worked at Eastbourne Council for the Housing team, mainly as a Specialist Housing Advisor for clients needing either adapted or supported housing, as well working as Homelessness advisor and Floating Support worker. I worked with many clients facing difficult challenges, often needing to move urgently due to their circumstances. The role involved direct liaison with many statutory services such as Social Care and the NHS and non-statutory services providing specialist advice.

From 2010 - 2015 I worked in Supported Accommodation at East Sussex County Council, supervising accommodation providers to provide support to clients with mental health, learning difficulties, acquired brain injury and substance misuse issues.

Before working in the housing and social care sector I worked as a translator (German and French into English), in the IT sector and some teaching of English to foreign students. I am also a qualified Shiatsu practitioner and qualified Qi Gong teacher.


Category listings

New search

Find the help you need